12th All-Africa Games: Aigbogun picks 18 for Rabat 2019

12th All-Africa Games: Aigbogun picks 18 for Rabat 2019

Flying Eagles coach Paul Aigbogun has released his final list of 18 players who will represent Nigeria at the 12th All-Africa Games starting this week in Morocco.

The U20 team has been training in Abuja for the past two weeks. With this in mind, the cadet side will be looking to make an impression at Africa’s showpiece multi-sport event.

The team of 18 players and their officials will travel to Lagos on Tuesday. Thereafter, they will fly to Morocco on Wednesday morning.

Aigbogun has kept faith with the bulk of the players who were part of the training camp in Germany before the FIFA U20 World Cup held in Poland May/June this year.

Equally important, Plateau United’s Ibrahim Abubakar will captain the team. Further, there is a return to the squad for Success Makanjuola, Chinonso Emeka, Peter Eletu, Collins Sor and Rabiu Mohammed. All  five featured at the FIFA U20 World Cup in Poland.

Meanwhile, the Flying Eagles will start their campaign in the football event on Friday, 16th August. The team will take on Burkina Faso in Rabat.

Also Read: Pogba reveals Man Utd future still unclear

Captain of the team, Ibrahim Abubakar told thenff.com that the team will do its best to put Nigeria on the podium at the continental Games.

“We have been preparing hard at training. The coaches have also been talking to us and telling us about the importance of the competition,” he said.

“I know Nigerians want us to do well. We want to make sure we make them proud by doing all we can to go as far as we can at the Games.

“This is a great opportunity for me and my teammates to make the nation proud and we are determined to do so,” Abubakar added.

Nigeria’s fixtures at the All-Africa Games

16/08/2019- Nigeria v Burkina Faso, Stade Hassan Moulay, Rabat

20/08/2019- South Africa v Nigeria, Stade Hassan Moulay, Rabat

23/08/2019 Nigeria v Morocco, Stade Hassan Moulay, Rabat

Team List:

Goalkeepers: Detan Ogundare (Kogi United), Matthew Yakubu (Clique Sports)

Defenders: Rabiu Mohammed (Plateau United), Mike Zaruma (Plateau United), Habibu Sadiq Yakubu (Rarara FC), Victor Arikpo Eteng (Sidos FC), Sanusi Abdulmutallif (Katsina United)

Midfielders: Peter Eletu (Prince Kazeem FC), Adewale Oladoye (Water FC), Liameed Quadri (36 Lion), Samuel Nnoshiri (Heartland), Abubakar Ibrahim (Plateau United)

Forwards: Emeka Chinonso (Brookhouse), Success Makanjuola (Water FC), Collins Sor (36 Lion), Saeed Jibril (Plateau United), Ahmad Ghali (MFM), Adesina Gata (Wikki Tourists)

Mayowa Oladeji

A writer with a keen interest in human stories and topical issues around the world.

Mayowa Oladeji

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *