2023: Suspended Catholic Priest wins APC Governorship ticket in Benue State

2023: Suspended Catholic Priest wins APC Governorship ticket in Benue State

The suspended priest of the Catholic Church Diocese of Gboko, Benue State, Hyacinth Alia, has defeated his closest contender, Barnabas Gemade, to clinch the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship ticket in the state.



Alia, who was suspended by the church after his declaration of interest to run for the post in the 2023 general elections, contested against the former Attorney-General of the Federation (AGF), Mike Aondoakaa, and the former National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Barnabas Gemade.



Benue State


Alia was relieved of his priestly duties temporarily on the grounds of the canon laws of the Catholic Church.
The suspended priest polled over 7,000 votes, representing the highest number of votes cast at the primary election on Friday to win the party’s ticket.


Recall that the APC in Benue opted for a direct primary to pick its governorship candidate. This, therefore, means that members of the party in the state voted for their preferred aspirant.



Read Also: Lalong commends APC governorship primary conduct


Alia’s opponents, Gemade and Aondoakaa, reportedly did not get any vote in some of the local government areas.
The suspended priest when he; declared to run for the post had; said he joined the governorship race to rescue Benue people from the “shackles of maladministration.”


He added that: “From the day I took the decision to answer the overwhelming calls of my people to; contest the governorship of Benue with the aim to; rescue our people from the shackles of maladministration, I was fully aware of the sacrifice I was; going to make.”



Meanwhile, former Chief of Air Staff, retired Air Marshal, Sadique Abubakar, has emerged the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate for the 2023 general election in Bauchi State.



Former Air Chief wins in Bauchi

Abubakar, who is the Nigerian Ambassador to Benin Republic, polled 370 votes to defeat six other aspirants in the primary election held on Thursday in Buchi.



Announcing the result on Friday, the Returning Officer and Chairman, APC Election Committee, Alhaji Ali Birninkudu, declared Abubakar the winner of the election.


He said that 1,020 delegates were; accredited and 1,012 votes were; cast in the exercise.



The returning officer said that Sen. Haliru Jika (Bauchi-Central), the runner-up in the election polled 278 and Alhaji Nura Manu-Soro came third with 269 votes.



He said that Musa Babayo polled 70 votes, Faruq Mustapha scored 26 votes, Mahmood Maijama 8 votes and Prof. Ali Pate got 0 votes, respectively.




About The Author

Chuks Ofurum is a staff of 1ST NEWS. He writes the weekly column "The Mouthpiece". [email protected]

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.