Petina Gappah becomes first Zimbabwean on Bailey’s longlist

Petina Gappah becomes first Zimbabwean on Bailey’s longlist

Alert! Petina Gappah has made the 2016 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction longlist for her novel The Book of Memory, becoming the first Zimbabwean author to be longlisted for the prize.

Just over a week ago, Gappah was also longlisted for the United Kingdom’s 2016 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award – the world’s richest prize for a single short story.

The Baileys Prize was created with the intention of bringing “the best women’s writing and female storytellers to ever-wider audiences”. The 2016 longlist of 20 books features seven nationalities and four previously shortlisted authors. Over half the list are debut novels.

2016 Chair of Judges Margaret Mountford said: “We had a hugely enjoyable and stimulating meeting, as there were a great many strong novels in contention. “We are delighted with the quality, the imaginative scope and the ambition of our chosen books, a longlist which reflects the judges’ interests and tastes. We hope readers will enjoy the variety of outstanding work on offer.” Read more


Photo Credit 


About The Author

Osigweh Lilian Oluchi is a graduate of the University of Lagos where she obtained a B.A (Hons) in English, Masters in Public and International affairs (MPIA). Currently works with 1stnews as a Database Manager / Writer. [email protected]

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.