Allies team up to impose sanctions on Russia

Allies team up to impose sanctions on Russia

The Russian recognition of Donetsk and Luhansk has led to a coalition of allies teaming up to impose sanctions on Russia.

Australia, Canada and Japan issued tough restrictions against Russia on Tuesday;  joining the growing list of countries who have taken economic sanctions against the country after Russian President Vladimir Putin recognized two Ukrainian regions as independents states; and moved Russian forces into eastern Ukraine.

Also, the United States, U.K., and European Union have all issued sanctions against Russia in reaction to Putin recognizing of Luhansk and Donetsk; two regions controlled by Russian-backed separatists;  as being independent states.

Putin on Monday also ordered Russia to move into these areas to perform “peacekeeping functions.

When announcing Australia’s punitive action against Russia, Prime Minister Scott Morrison said they would include targeted travel bans and financial retributions against members of Russia’s national security council; the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) reported.

Broader discipline would be extended to the separatist-controlled regions, said Morrison. also Morrison said that he expected to impose more bans on Russian citizens seeking to benefit off of a Russian invasion of Ukraine.

The Australian prime minister also said that Ukrainian visa applications would be moved to the top of the pile.”

Also read: COVID-19: Australia to open borders to vaccinated tourists on February 21

“The invasion of Ukraine has effectively already begun. this invasion is unjustified, it’s unwarranted, it’s unprovoked and it’s unacceptable,” Morrison said according to ABC. “We cant have some suggestion that Russia has some just case here they’re prosecuting; they are behaving like thugs and bullies.”

In a press briefing, Trudeau called Russia’s actions on Monday a “violation of Russia’s obligations under international law and the charter of the United Nations.

“Canada also denounces Russian military actions; including orders to move into Ukraine; which is a clear incursion of Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity. Make no mistake this is a further invasion of a Sovereign State and it is completely unacceptable,” Trudeau said.

“As part of Canada’s discipline against Russia, all Canadians would be banned from taking part in financial dealings with the so-called independents states of Luhansk and Donetsk.” Canadians will also be banned from purchasing Russian sovereign debt.”

Canada will also be targeting members of Russia’s parliament; who voted to recognize Luhansk and Donetsk; as well as two state-backed Russian banks.

As reported, Japanese Prime Minister Fumio Kishida said; “Russia’s actions very clearly damage Ukraine’s sovereignty; and go against international law. We once again criticize these moves and strongly urge Russia to return to diplomatic discussions.”

In the same vein, Japan’s punitive action would involve prohibiting Russian bonds from being issued in Japan; freezing the bank accounts of certain Russian individuals; and restricting travel to Japan.

Kishida went further saying “Japan’s energy supplies would not be impacted in the short term; thanks to sufficient reserves of oil and liquified natural gas.”

If energy prices begin to rise;  Kishida said he would consider all possible options to keep this from impacting Japanese businesses and households.

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.