APC Convention: Why Fayemi, Akpabio, Amosun stepped down for Tinubu

APC Convention: Why Fayemi, Akpabio, Amosun stepped down for Tinubu

Kayode Fayemi, Ibikunle Amosun, and Godswill Akpabio, former governors of Ekiti, Ogun, and Akwa Ibom states respectively have stepped down for Bola Tinubu in the All Progressives Congress presidential primary race.



The trio made the move on Tuesday night during the 2022 APC National Convention at the Eagle Square in Abuja, saying it was after consultations.




“I would have run this race on the basis of my track record but haven’t taken cognizance of the history of the APC and the effort of the governors to bring peace in a fragile situation like this that we are looking at South.






“But I have seen a man older than me and who was the first visioner in governance and that man-made us have good governance in Lagos state,” Akpabio said.


“Therefore, I doff my hat and urged you that as I withdraw now, vote for Asiwaju Ahmed Tinubu.”



Fayemi appealed to the delegates loyal to him to honor him and vote for Tinubu.



Fayemi, Akpabio, and Amosun however, pledged to work for the party ahead of the general elections.



Meanwhile, a presidential aspirant, Mr Nicolas Felix, has stepped down for the Vice President of Nigeria, Prof Yemi Osinbajo.



Read Also: Nicolas Felix steps down for Osinbajo



He announced this at the ongoing national convention of the party.

According to him, it is unfair for a Muslim to take over from another Muslim.



He explained that apart from regions, religion should also be considered in choosing who becomes the next president of Nigeria.



“I hereby step down my ambition to become the president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and declare my full support for the Vice President, Prof Yemi Osinbajo,” he said.



He is the youngest among the 23 presidential aspirants in the ongoing presidential primary of APC.

Felix who ran for the presidency in 2019 and came third asked his supporters to vote for Osinbajo.

About The Author

Chuks Ofurum is a staff of 1ST NEWS. He writes the weekly column "The Mouthpiece". [email protected]

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.