BREAKING: Timipre Sylva emerges APC Gov candidate for Bayelsa

BREAKING: Timipre Sylva emerges APC Gov candidate for Bayelsa

 Timipre Sylva, ex-Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, has emerged as the standard-bearer of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the November 11 Governorship election in Bayelsa.


The former Bayelsa Governor was declared winner of the party’s primaries in a landslide victory.


Sylva is in the running for the Bayelsa top job and will be looking to unseat incumbent; Duoye Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who is gunning for a second term as governor of the oil-rich state.


ALSO READ: Timipre Sylva: Petroleum Minister blames racketeering for prolonged fuel scarcity


Timipre Sylva


Final results of the APC Gubernatorial primaries in Bayelsa as announced by Maj. Gen. A.T Jubrin; Chairman, Primary Election Committee as validly constituted by the National Working Committee (NWC) of the APC; revealed that Timipre Sylva polled an overwhelming 52, 061 from the total accredited delegates list of 58,141. Our correspondent monitoring proceedings in Bayelsa disclosed that Sylva swept the popular votes from delegates in the 105 wards in Bayelsa State; dusting other aspirants including David Lyon, the APC’s 2019 gubernatorial candidate who polled 1,584; Ogbomade Isikima – 584, Joshua Maciver – 2,078, Barr. Daumiebi Sunday Festus – 557 and Ongoebi Maureen – 1,277.


In line with the provisions of the 2022 Electoral Act (as amended); the results of the primary election have been ratified by delegates of the party across the 105 wards (5 delegates per ward). The Congress took place at the State Party Secretariat, Yenagoa


More details later….

About The Author

Epicurean. Wordsmith... [email protected]

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.