Buhari swears in 7 new Ministers, announces minor cabinet changes

Buhari swears in 7 new Ministers, announces minor cabinet changes

President Muhammadu Buhari has announced a minor cabinet reshuffle as he swore in seven new Ministers in the State House, Abuja, on Wednesday, July 6.

The affected ministers swore in include Goodluck Opiah (Imo); Umar El-Yakub (Kano); Ademola Adegoroye (Ondo); Henry Ikoh (Abia); Umana Okon Umana (Akwa Ibom); Ekumankama Nkama (Ebonyi) and Odum Odi (Rivers).

Six of the ministers replaced six former members of the federal executive council, who retired to participate in the last party primaries of the All Progressives Congress (APC); while El-Yakub replaced the former Minister of Agriculture, Sabo Nanono, who was removed from office.

While announcing the reshuffle shortly before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council meeting; Buhari approved Minister of State, Health, Sen. Adeleke Mamora as new the Minister of Science and Technology; Minister of State, Works, Mua’azu Sambo also moved to the Ministry of Transportation as substantive Minister.

Umanna Umanna is now the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs; while Minister of State Environment, Sharon Ikeazor has been moved to the Niger Delta Ministry as Minister of State.

Also Read: Peter Obi claims opponents are being paid to defame character

Sen Gbemisola Saraki was moved to the Ministry of Mines and Steel as Minister of State; while Umar El-Yakub is now the Minister of State Works and Housing.

Buhari also approved Goodluck Apiah as Minister of State, Education; Ekumankama Nkama, Minister of Health; Ikoh Ikechekwu, Minister of State, Science and Technology; Odum Udi, Minister of State, Environment; while Ademola Adegoroye is now Minister of State, Transportation.

Before the swearing-in by Buhari, a minute’s silence was observed in honour of Mohammed Barkindo; the outgoing Secretary-General of the Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC), who died at the age of 63, on Tuesday night.

Those physically in attendance are the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo; Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha; and Chief of Staff to the President, Prof Ibrahim Gambari.

Other Ministers who were also in attendance include the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami, Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige, Education, Adamu Adamu, Communication and Digital Economy, Isa Pantami.

Others are, Mines and Steel, Olamilekan Adegbite, Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva, and Minister of State, Budget, National Planning, Clem Agba, and State, Industry Trade and Investment, Maryam Katagun as well as all the newly sworn-in ministers.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.