Caine Prize 2018 announces judging panel

Caine Prize 2018 announces judging panel

The Caine Prize for African Writing has announced the five judges for the 2018 edition. While making the announcement on December 14 in a statement, the prize encouraged publishers to submit qualifying stories in good time.

Georgetown University’s nomination to the panel, Dinaw Mengestu, will serve as the chair of judges. An award winning Ethiopian-American novelist and writer, Dinaw is the former Chair in Poetry at the Lannan Foundation at Georgetown. He will be joined by: Henrietta Rose-Innes, South African author and winner of the 2008 Caine Prize; Lola Shoneyin, award winning author and Director of the Ake Arts and Books Festival; Alain Mabanckou, world-renowned writer and Professor of Literature at UCLA; and Ahmed Rajab, a Zanzibar-born international journalist, political analyst and essayist.

Commenting on the 2018 judging panel, Chair of the Caine Prize, Dr. Delia Jarrett-Macauley, said, “I am delighted that Dinaw Mengestu has agreed to be our 2018 chair of the judges and we are looking forward to celebrating the panel’s findings.”

The deadline for submissions to the 2018 Caine Prize is January 31.

The judging panel will meet in April 2018 to determine which entries will make the shortlist.

For the second time in the 19-year history of the Caine Prize, the award will be announced on Monday, July 2 at Senate House, London, in collaboration with the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS).



About The Author

Osigweh Lilian Oluchi is a graduate of the University of Lagos where she obtained a B.A (Hons) in English, Masters in Public and International affairs (MPIA). Currently works with 1stnews as a Database Manager / Writer. [email protected]

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.