Carabao Cup fourth-round draw: Man City host holders Liverpool

Carabao Cup fourth-round draw: Man City host holders Liverpool

In the fourth round of the Carabao Cup, Manchester City has been drawn in an exciting matchup with champions Liverpool from the previous year.

Carabao Cup round four draw

City (four) and Liverpool (one) have won the last five editions of the competition. Last season’s final saw Jurgen Klopp’s team defeat Chelsea, who were defeated at the Etihad on Wednesday.

In the 2016 championship game between the two teams, Manuel Pellegrini’s Man City defeated Liverpool on penalties following a 1-1 draw at Wembley.

Burnley was drawn to play Manchester United elsewhere in the fourth round. Burnley are currently in first place in the Championship and are led by former Manchester City captain Vincent Kompany. Recall that Kompany won four Premier League titles with Manchester City.

Eddie Howe’s former team Bournemouth will visit St. James’ Park to play high-flying Newcastle; while Nottingham Forest will go to Blackburn as compensation for stunning Tottenham.

Read more: Liverpool wins Carabao cup after penalty shoot-out

All four remaining EFL sides were handed tough draws against Premier League opponents. MK Dons will also host Leicester; Charlton – the last London side standing – take on Brighton; League Two club Gillingham travel to Wolves; and Lincoln go to Southampton.

The games are scheduled for the week beginning December 19, immediately after the world cup.

About The Author

Skilled communication expert and tech whiz. Highly passionate about social transformation and quality education.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.