The Committee For Relevant Art (CORA), will be hosting a Book Party for the authors longlisted for the Nigeria Literature Prize. The event comes up at the Federal Palace Hotel, Victoria Island on Sunday  August 3, at 2pm.Toyin Akinosho

This edition of the Book Party is the sixth annual event dedicated to providing an interface between authors who make the longlist of the prestigious prize and the reading public.

CORA insists on having this feast every year as part of its intervention in spreading the word about The Nigerian Book. The Book Party is one of CORA’s several outreach programmes for the book (including ‘Book Trek’ in Secondary Schools and ‘Publishers Forum’).

“We find ourselves in the vanguard of expanding the membership of the community of book lovers. This party is one of the several events we organize to make books look cool”, says Jahman Anikulapo, CORA’s Programme Chair.

The longlisted authors and their works include: John Friday Abba – Alekwu Night Dance;  Patrick Ogbe​ AdaofuyiCanterkerous Passengers; Soji Cole ​​​- ​Maybe Tommorrow; Paul Edema ​​​- ​A Plague of Gadflies; Jude​​​ Idada -​ Oduduwa, King of the Edos; Onshore Ruth​ Momodu​No Fault of Mine; Attah Isaac​​ Ogezi -​ Under a Darkling Sky; Julie​ Okoh ​- ​Our Wife Forever; Ade​ Solanke ​​- ​Pandora’s Box; Arnold​ ​UdokaAkon andSam​ Ukala ​​- ​Iredi War

The Book Party is actually a full party, which means there will be food, drinks and merrymaking apart from book readings and discussions.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature was established by Nigeria LNG Limited as part of their corporate citizenship programme and commitment to the development of Nigerian society. Its advisory board includes Professors Ayo BanjoJerry Agada, and Ben Elugbe. The Prize is awarded annually and rotates between four literary genres: prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature. This year’s focus is drama, and the list of 11 was drawn from a total of 124 entries.

The shortlist of three playwrights will be announced in September, and the winner of the $100,000 prize in October. Previous winners of the prize include Professor Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo in 2007 for children’s literaure, Chika Unigwe in 2012 for prose fiction, and Tade Ipadeola in 2013 for poetry.

About The Author

Osigweh Lilian Oluchi is a graduate of the University of Lagos where she obtained a B.A (Hons) in English, Masters in Public and International affairs (MPIA). Currently works with 1stnews as a Database Manager / Writer. [email protected]

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *