COVID-19: Death toll hits 40 as Nigeria records 91 new cases, total now 1273

COVID-19: Death toll hits 40 as Nigeria records 91 new cases, total now 1273


Nigeria has recorded 91 new confirmed cases of COVID-19, along with 40 deaths and 239 recoveries; which bring the country total to 1273 cases.

This was disclosed on the verified Twitter account of the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control, NCDC, on Sunday night.

According to the NCDC, as at 11:50pm of April 26th, it recorded 91 new cases of COVID-19; with Lagos state remaining the hub of the infection.

The Centre of Excellence, as Lagos is fondly called, recorded 43 new confirmed cases; followed by Sokoto with eight cases, then Taraba with six cases.


READ ALSO: NCDC reports 87 new cases of COVID-19, 35 deaths, total now 1182


According to the breakdown of the new cases in affected states, Kaduna and Gombe states had a tie of five COVID-19 cases each; while Ondo, FCT, Edo, Oyo, Rivers and Bauchi states all had the same record of three new cases each.

Leading from the rear was the quartet of Kebbi, Ebonyi, Bayelsa and Akwa Ibom which had one new case each; while Osun state recorded two new cases.


NCDC noted that one case previously reported in Lagos is now an Ondo State case.  This bring the total number of confirmed COVID-19 cases in Lagos to 731, and eight in Ondo.

Four new states (Ebonyi, Bayelsa, Kebbi and Taraba) have reported confirmed cases in the last 24 hours.

The 91 new cases come 24 hours after 1st News quoted the NCDC which had announced 87 new cases of COVID-19 in the country on Saturday.

Meanwhile, a look at the breakdown of the cases by states shows that Lagos remains the epicentre of the COVID-19 pandemic in Nigeria with a total of 731 cases (active – 584 cases). Next is Abuja – the FCT with 141 cases (103 active). Kano is next with 77 cases (76 active); followed by Ogun – 35 cases (29 active), Gombe – 35 cases (35 active) and Osun with 34 cases (14 active).

Closely trailing Osun is Katsina with 30 cases (24 active), Borno – with 30 cases (28 active); Edo with 25 cases (14 active); Oyo with 21 (10 active); Akwa Ibom with 12 cases (two active) and Kaduna with 15 cases (nine active). Bauchi is next with 14 cases (eight active); followed by Sokoto with 10 cases (10 active); Kwara – 11 (nine active); Ekiti – eight cases (five active); Ondo with eight cases (six active); Delta – six (five active) and Rivers with six cases and two active.

A new entrant, Taraba follows suit with six cases (six active); Abia, Niger, Jigawa and Zamfara with two cases each (two active); Enugu with two reported cases (none active); while the rest of the pack including Benue, Adamawa, Plateau, Imo, Bayelsa, Ebonyi and Kebbi all have one reported case each and one active.

Finally, Anambra also has one confirmed case which has been discharged.


About The Author

Humanitarian reporter, writer and author [email protected]

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.