Germany has won the 2014 World Cup, needing 90 minutes plus extra time to claim their 4th World Cup trophy at the expense of Messi and company. Germany wins World Cup


After the 8 goals of the first semi-final, Sunday’s game was predictably a cagey affair. Both sides featured organised defence lines, thwarting attack after attack, depriving fans of a goal-filled spectacle. But kept their sides in the contest.



The deadlock was finally broken at the 113rd minute with a Mario Gotze volley from Andres Schurrle cross, sparking German celebrations. And deferring Messi’s World Cup hopes. Although the Barcelona man took the Golden Ball, given to the best player of the tournament, he would have to wait to join Pele and compatriot Maradona in lifting that most desired of footballing trophies.     


In 2014, it is Joachim Low’s men who have made history, claiming the first trophy for unified Germany–the earlier 3 were won by West Germany, the last coming in 1990. Then it was Lothar Matthaus lifting the trophy, who could be seen taking a selfie at the Maracana, this year it was Philip Lahm captaining the Mannschaft to victory.

They become the first European team to win the trophy on South American soil.


Photo credit, BBC

About The Author

Osigweh Lilian Oluchi is a graduate of the University of Lagos where she obtained a B.A (Hons) in English, Masters in Public and International affairs (MPIA). Currently works with 1stnews as a Database Manager / Writer. [email protected]

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.