Last-gasp penalty drama: Why Man Utd winner was allowed to stand despite final whistle

Last-gasp penalty drama: Why Man Utd winner was allowed to stand despite final whistle

Man Utd won via a 100th-minute winner from the penalty spot by Bruno Fernandes after Neal Maupay handball; Referee Chris Kavanagh blew the full-time whistle before VAR review spotted infringement; Brighton boss Graham Potter: “I don’t know where the extra time came from.”

Bruno Fernandes scored a last-gasp penalty deep into added time as Man Utd snatched a dramatic 3-2 win from an incident-packed encounter at Brighton.

This was despite referee Chris Kavanagh having blown the full-time whistle at the Amex Stadium.

So why was the game brought back for Man Utd to take the match-winning penalty?

Sky Sports analysed how the dramatic match unfolded.

 

What happened?

Fernandes converted the penalty with the last kick of the game in the 100th minute after referee Kavanagh penalised Neal Maupay for handball having consulted the pitchside monitor.

Players from both teams surrounded match official Kavanagh during a remarkable ending.

This was as the referee consulted VAR and pointed to the spot after initially seeming to have blown the full-time whistle at the Amex Stadium.

Also Read: Governors inaugurate committe to meet with labour, FG over imminent nationwide strike

Maupay was found to have blocked Harry Maguire’s goal-bound effort with an outstretched arm and, after a on-field melee, Fernandes dispatched the ball high into the top-right corner for the final say in a crazy south-coast encounter.

 

Why was Fernandes allowed to take the penalty?

Simply, because the whistle was blown after the incident and not before, and the incident took place in normal time. The VAR – Simon Hooper – was able to check, irrespective of the full-time whistle that followed.

As play had officially been brought to an end, Fernandes‘ penalty was the last kick of the game, so if Brighton goalkeeper Mat Ryan had saved it and the rebound was scored, it would not have counted.

IFAB Law 7.4 – On duration of match

If a penalty kick has to be taken or retaken, the half is extended until the penalty kick is completed.

IFAB Law 2 also states: “If at the end of the half, the referee leaves the field of play to go to the referee review area (RRA) or to instruct the players to return to the field of play, this does not prevent a decision being changed for an incident which occurred before the end of the half.”

Solly March’s header looked to have sealed Brighton a deserved point in the fifth and final minute of stoppage-time; but there was still time for Man Utd to mount a late push for a winner

Maguire sent a looping header towards goal that struck Maupay’s outstretched arm before being cleared off the line by March.

Kavanagh was instructed to take a second look at the incident on the pitchside monitor in the referee review area.

On second glance, Kavanagh spots the infringement from Maupay; and points to the penalty spot amid similarly heated protests from Brighton players and staff.

 

 

About The Author

A writer with a keen interest in human stories and topical issues around the world. [email protected]

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *