Ministerial list: Women who made Buhari’s list (Pics)

Ministerial list: Women who made Buhari’s list (Pics)

After a long wait by the citizenry, President Muhammadu Buhari sent the list of his ministerial nominees to the Senate on Tuesday, July 23.

However, only seven women made it to the ministerial list out of 43 names. This means that women have only 16 per cent of the proposed cabinet.

There were six women in his first ministerial list of 36 in 2015, which is also 16 per cent.

Former President Goodluck Jonathan achieved over 30 per cent with his appointments during his tenure.

Here is the list of the women ministers:


The 60-year-old politician served in the cabinet of ex-President Olusegun Obasanjo.

She was then the Minister of State for Science and Technology.

In 2007, she was elected Deputy Governor of Plateau state and later contested the governorship election in 2011 but lost to Jonah Jang.

The University of Jos sociology graduate defected from the Peoples Democratic Party to the All Progressives Congress before the 2015 election.

Further, she is the first female to be a Deputy Governor in the Northern region.



Katagum is Nigeria’s ambassador and Permanent Delegate to the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). She has occupied this role since June 2009.

A Deputy Director at the Ministry of Education, she occupied the office of the Secretary-General of the Nigerian National Commission for UNESCO between 2001 and 2009.

The Ahmadu Bello university graduate is also the Deputy Chair of the Board of Governors of the Commonwealth of Learning (COL) and member representing Nigeria on the UNESCO executive board.

Also Read: Oshiomhole: Becoming villain he preached against



She is the Federal Commissioner of the National Commission for Refugees, Migrants and Internally Displaced Persons.

Between 2011 and 2013, she was the National Treasurer of the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC). The CPC was a political party founded by Buhari ahead of the 2011 elections.

Meanwhile, she served as the National Treasurer of the party between 2013 and June 2014.



Ikeazor is the Executive Secretary of Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate (PTAD).

In 2011, she was elected the National Woman Leader of the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC). Consequently, she emerged APC’s interim National Woman Leader after the merger that produced the ruling party.

In 2014, she was appointed to the APC Board of Trustees.



She is the daughter of Olusola Saraki, former strongman of Kwara politics, and a sibling of Bukola Saraki, President of the 8th Senate.

In 1999, she was elected into the House of Representatives to represent Asa/Ilorin West Federal Constituency of Kwara.

Gbemi Saraki makes ministerial list

In 2003, the 54-year-old, who holds a bachelors degree in Economics from the University of Sussex, was elected senator representing Kwara central senatorial district.

She held this position till 2011 when she tried to succeed her brother who was governor of Kwara between 2003 and 2011. However, she lost despite having the backing of her father.

She defected to the APC in 2015 and was believed to have worked against her brother’s re-election.



Ramatu Tijjani is the National Woman Leader of the APC.

The 49-year-old holds a bachelor’s degree in Urban and Regional Planning from the Ahmadu Bello University.


Ramatu Tijjani makes ministerial list

She is the first female National Vice-Chairman (North-Central zone) of the-then leading opposition political party, the All Peoples Party.

In 2010, she became the National Woman Leader of the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP). On June 2014, she became the National Woman Leader of the APC.



She was appointed the Minister of State for Budget and Planning in 2015. Later, she became substantive Minister of Finance in 2018 following the resignation of Kemi Adeosun.

The 59-year-old holds a degree in accounting from the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria. Additionally, she holds a Master’s in business administration from Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ogun.

Zainab Ahmed makes ministerial list

She was the Executive Secretary of the Nigeria Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (NEITI).

Ahmed is the daughter of Yahaya Hamza. Hamza is the foster father of Nasir El-Rufai, governor of Kaduna state.

About The Author

Mayowa Oladeji

A writer with a keen interest in human stories and topical issues around the world.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *