OAU to honour Paul Kagame, Ibukun Awosika, other Africans

OAU to honour Paul Kagame, Ibukun Awosika, other Africans


One of the leading federal universities in Nigeria, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Nigeria, is set to recognize the unique contributions of four distinguished Africans with honorary doctorate degrees.

The varsity Public Relations Officer, Mr Abiodun Olarewaju, listed the awardees in its statement made available to journalists.

According to the statement, the awardees as the Rwandan President, Paul Kagame; Marketing Communications guru, Mr Biodun Shobajo; the President of African Export-Import Bank, Dr Benedict Oramah and the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the First Bank of Nigeria Plc, Mrs Ibukun Awosika.

It also stated that the awardees who are Africans received the honour for their contributions to the socio-economic; and political development of their countries, continent and the world at large.


READ ALSO: Fighting corruption isn’t difficult, Kagame advises Buhari


Olarewaju in the statement further explained that the university would confer the Doctor of Sciences D.Sc. (Agric. Economics) (Honoris Causa); on Dr Ben Oramah in recognition of his outstanding academic achievements; and unique contributions to finance and trade in Africa.

“In the same vein, Mrs Ibukun Awosika’s indelible corporate achievements, unique and outstanding contributions to the growth of entrepreneurship in society; in addition to her humane social activism, earned her the recognition of the university with the conferment of the Doctor of Business Administration (D.BM) (Honoris Causa).”

Mr Olarewaju added that; “The four honorary awardees will receive the conferment with their degrees as part of the events; marking the 44th convocation of the University holding from Wednesday 11th to Saturday 4th December, 2019”.

About The Author

Humanitarian reporter, writer and author 1stnews.com [email protected]

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *