Uzodinma urges Imo APC Executives to ensure unity within warring factions

Uzodinma urges Imo APC Executives to ensure unity within warring factions

Gov. Hope Uzodinma of Imo, on Saturday, October 16, charged newly elected state executive members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) to reconcile aggrieved members and convert new ones.

Uzodinma gave the charge after the party’s congress in Owerri, on Saturday.

1st News reports that the party adopted consensus voice voting system to elect its officers.

The governor commended the 1,700 delegates for their unanimous votes for the officers and also for demonstrating that “democracy is working in Imo state.

Also Read: Diri: Bayelsa Gov says Nigerians are tired of APC, ready to vote PDP

He also commended the organising committee; as well as members of the party for their resilience in ensuring a hitch-free exercise.

Uzodinma said: “Having struggled in the past three months to lay a solid foundation; that will enable the growth of the party, I urge you not to betray the confidence reposed on you by the party.

“Go out there and carry out political evangelism, preach the good message, tell the story the way it is and our party will continue to grow from strength to strength.”

Uzodinma urged the executives to also reconcile aggrieved members of the party; and also recruit new ones.

“So that our government of prosperity, which is the hallmark of our administration; will impact on all of us,” he added.

He pledged to give the newly elected executive all the support it required; saying “APC is a national party that produced me, if it fails then I have failed and if APC succeeds, it means I have succeeded.

“My success is our success and our success is my success,” he added.

Earlier, the Chairman of the Congress Committee, Mr Godwin Anaughe, said the emergence of the executive had provided a structure; that would lead the party into victory in 2023.

Dr Macdonald Ebere was elected as the state chairman of the party; while Mr Mathew Omegara was elected as deputy chairman.

Other elected officers include Mr Greg Madu, Secretary; Mr Ikechukwu Umeh, Organising Secretary; Mrs Ifeoma Ndukwu, Women Leader and Mr Peter Madu, Auditor, among others.



Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *