Wizkid drops surprise 7-Track EP — “Sound Man Vol. 1”

Wizkid drops surprise 7-Track EP — “Sound Man Vol. 1”


Nigerian music superstar, Wizkid has surreptitiously released a 7-track EP titled Sound Man Vol. 1.


During the early hours of Friday, December 6, Wizkid real name Ayodeji Balogun dropped a fascinating 7-track EP without prior announcement. Nigerians awoke to the music project on Friday night.


The EP houses seven hit tracks which feature the likes of Chronixx, DJ Tunez, Kel-P, London, as well as Blaq Jerzee.


ALSO READ: Laughter, Tears & Goosebumps: Why Fireboy DML’s album is pivotal to this melancholy generation


Making the announcement, Wizkid also wrote on Instagram, ‘Update your playlist! #SoundmanEp vol1. Out worldwide’?



Stream below:


The emergence of Wizkid

Nigerian singer/songwriter Ayodeji Ibrahim Balogun (aka Wizkid) began his career in music when he was just 11 years old.


His first record, Lil Prinz, was recorded in 2001 in collaboration with Glorious Five, a group consisting of Balogun and his friends from church.


In 2006, he started pursuing music full-time, at first collaborating with various Nigerian pop acts including OJB Jezreel, Naeto C, and Banky W.



By 2011 he was ready to record his debut studio album as a solo artist; Superstar was released via Empire Mates Entertainment (EME for short) to great critical and public acclaim across Africa, propelling him to stardom in his home country.


After multiple delays and label disagreements, Balogun released his sophomore album, Ayo, in 2014.


His second studio album featured a multitude of guest appearances, including a spot from Femi Kuti.


It also featured Balogun’s global breakthrough track “Ojuelegba.


Not only did the single cement his status as one of Nigeria’s biggest pop acts; but it was also picked up and remixed by Drake and Skepta, thrusting Wizkid into the international spotlight.


In return, Wizkid appeared on Drake’s 2016 smash single “One Dance.”




In March 2017, it was announced that Wizkid had signed a major deal with RCA and Sony International; which would release his third LP, Sound from the Other Side, later that year.


A handful of singles appeared in advance of the album; including “Sweet Love” and the Drake-assisted “Come Closer.”


October 2018 saw Wizkid issue a pair of singles, “Master Groove” and “Fever,” to mark Nigeria’s Independence Day.



About The Author

Discreet Writer. Avid reader. Creativity Savvy Emerging Billionaire. [email protected]

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *